My issues with the “30 days to…” challenges.

When I first started working out, I was always looking for quick fixes. “How to drop a dress size in two weeks”, “how to get a peachy bum in 30 days”, “the 30 day challenge that will change your life”. HA. They don’t work.

Now, like I’ve said before, I’m absolutely no expert in health and fitness. I’m taking things one day at a time, breaking my own boundaries and trying to repair myself in more ways than one. BUT, I really don’t believe these things work.

I do, however, believe they might be able to give someone (not unlike myself) the get up and go they need in order to get on with their journey to health. They to kind of give quick results I suppose, but the real challenge is progressing and maintaining this. For me, they gave me nowhere to go.

I’ve done a detox, felt AMAZING but then had normal food again and BOOM. Progress gone. I did the 30 day squat challenge, felt and looked great. 30 days were over, and it was gone again! I had no idea what I was doing.

Then I said no more. I had a gym membership, so decided to go to the gym. I worked on my cardio and on a few machines, then started to build up the floor and weight work. Now? I realised I wasn’t making any progress and a professional was needed.

I’ll go into my training another time. The point of the psot was that the problem with these “quick fixes” is that that’s just what they are. A quick fix. If you really want to make progress you need to put the effort in.

Any thoughts always welcome.

C.

Leave a Reply

